Frozen assets

April 4, 2007 at 8:51 pm 7 comments

Fridge in the Snow

This day just took a completely dramatic and unexpected turn. I was just going about my usual blog round, which includes a stop at  Little Blog In the Big Woods. Greenpa’s seemingly insane suggestion that everyone should get rid of their fridges… actually got me thinking, believe it or not… Well… not about my poor tiny innocent little fridge, I have no problem with him. At least for now. I am not prepared to give him up, especially with the warmer weather approaching.

But I realized that I completely forgot about the monster freezer I keep in my bike garage, quietly tucked away out of sight and out of mind. Why do we use that thing, anyway? I have four drawers full of last century frozen veggies that were already there when we moved in. I am almost tempted to think it is worth to keep running it just to avoid confrontation with that nastiness. But alas, I must be brave… So actually, we have been keeping it on for the sake of some rotten greens, half a package of ice-cream and a bunch of ice bags (plastic ice bags… another thing to add to The List).

So there… I made up my mind. I’m pulling the plug on the big white. I am still left with a moral dilemma about having to throw away a number of plastic bags full of water. Hmm… Here’s what I’ll do: I’m going to give it until Sunday to get rid of the ice… Which may or may not include getting a bunch of people over and an alcohol binge… Oh the sacrifices one has to endure…  😀

Anyway, I actually think there is something to be said about no-fridge idea. Maybe not while its warm, and not in hot climates. But why not using your balcony in the winter as a natural refrigerator? I have done it when I lived in a student corridor and had no space in the fridge… it works just as well. I can even envision having a shelf on the balcony especialy for that purpose and unplugging the indoor one. This is definately something I will consider next winter.

How about you Vanessa? Wanna give it a try? 😉

Photo Courtesy of Phil Dowsing on Flickr

Entry filed under: energy, environment, food. Tags: .

Let there be Compost! Wasting money

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. gettinggreen  |  April 4, 2007 at 10:10 pm

    Haha — you know, I was just thinking about my fridge the other day. It really does suck up a lot of electricity, and I probably could get away with not having it on during the winter. Maybe I’ll try that when January rolls around. I actually wish I could just have a fridge and not a freezer because my freezer is totally empty except for a bottle of gin and a pack of frozen soy beans!

  • 2. Nicole  |  April 5, 2007 at 2:01 am

    Visiting via your comment over at Greenpa’s site. I don’t know if I can go totally fridge-free, since we live in Florida, but I have thought about downsizing. I’m giving it some thought.

    BTW, we’ve had a compost pile for years. I just have a large (yes, plastic) lidded container that we keep in the freezer. It kills the bacteria that cause the food to smell and keeps away the fruit flies!! 🙂

    Stop in and say hello sometime. I like your place here; I’m sure I’ll be back! 🙂

  • 3. Deanna  |  April 5, 2007 at 6:16 am

    Hey there. I’m also visiting via Greenpa’s site. I don’t think I can convince the family to get rid of the fridge, even though I’ve had success with limiting the use of our dryer.

    But I just wanted to comment — our last house was built in 1916, a small bungalow. It had some pretty neat cutouts with a little door right outside the kitchen that allowed you have have food stored “outside” when it was cold out. It took us a while to figure out what the little trap door and storage space was for!

  • 4. Alina  |  April 5, 2007 at 12:57 pm

    Nicole,

    I don’t think I could do without a fridge in Florida either… But who knows? As greenpa says, not everything needs to be in the fridge.

    Downsizing the monster can be an option too. My fridge is REALLY tiny and we never had problems with lack of space. But think about how old/new your fridge is, and wheather it is worth upgrading for a smaller and more efficient one. After all, that would be a LOT of waste you would be creating, and the CFCs in your fridge can be a big evironmental problem unless they are properly extracted.

    Deanna,

    That must be a pretty cool contraption (no pun intended). But whats the point of using the fridge when its cold outside anyway…

  • 5. Goldberry  |  April 12, 2007 at 3:33 am

    I had to laugh when I saw your comment on getting rid of the refrigerator. I was just reading that other blog and thinking how impractical it would be. However, I decided to fill a pitcher with filtered water and put it in, to increase the efficiency. If I had gallons of water, I would put in as many as I could. Fridges and freezers run on less energy when they’re full of cold items, since they stay cold longer before turning on again… So if you freeze lots of veggies, or stock up ice cream, that would be both emergency food storage and energy saving!

  • 6. Alina  |  April 12, 2007 at 11:00 am

    First of all, I wasn’t getting rid of the refrigerator, but the freezer. They are separate entities. And second, I don’t need emergency food storage or ice-cream. So the only energy saving thing to do here is to unplug the bugger.

  • 7. Sara  |  May 12, 2007 at 4:05 am

    I read that entry about getting rid of the fridge and found myself trying to plan how I could do it. I’m always up for some radical earth-saving ideas 🙂 It would be a really useful thing to learn how to live without because that’s one less thing to depend on when we go off the grid someday! Love your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Proudly achieved

  • 120,523 eye rolls since March 2007

