The Full Monty

April 12, 2007 at 12:01 am 3 comments

After a couple of days of whining, I can finally write about something that is really really great. Today I made it, at last, to the only organic shop here in Wageningen. That place is AWESOME! I can’t believe it’s been so long since last time I went there… I lost myself in there like I was in Disneyland… They had EVERYTHING! And I mean, everything you could possible want or need to be a full-time hippie tree-hugger, even things you didn’t even imagine you could find here.

I can’t even begin to describe it. They have an huge variety of all kinds of green clening stuff, natural beauty products, beeswax candles, organic pet food, natural kitty litter, all kinds of organic grains, organic flower, organic bread and Co. organic dairy, organic meat, meat replacements, organic oils, organic wine, organic beer, organic coffee/tea, recycled paper products (yes, including toilet paper in an 8 pack), organic compost, organic pot soil, organic seeds, all kinds of veggies and so on and on and on.

Seriously, everything you could ever wish for in order to be green is there. What I liked especially about the fruit and veggies is that the price tags show right off the bet where the stuff comes from, and the selection of local dutch products is quite big. So if I wanted to be strict about localness, I could. But I don’t want to be so restrictive just yet.

And even more surprising for me is that prices there aren’t even so steep. It’s actually quite comparable to the supermarket in some cases, and especially, if you consider all the embarrassment that store saves you its a real bargain. Don’t have to ask “where does this come from”, don’t get weird looks when I hand them reused bags to put my shrooms in.

Today I just bought some meat-replacement soya stuff, some bulgur wheat and some organic apples. And that all came out pretty cheap consedering I saved 2 euros on sea salt. In the supermarket, half kilo of over-packaged sea salt is 1,5E and there I paid 0,95E for a kilo, and my favourite part is that it saves on packaging and is all natural from the Atlantic.

I think I’m going to do all mt shopping there from now on. I have solved my TP dilemma, my trash bag dilemma (they have corn trash bags that are the right size) and my organic/local/cheap dilemma. Hoorray!

No photo this time… but I’ll post one soon after next time I go there.

Entry filed under: environment, food, green, local, organic, shopping.

Clogs Eating out

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lori V.  |  April 12, 2007 at 3:07 pm

    Congrats, Alina! Consider the fact that soon you will get to know them on a more personal level, and that adds to the enjoyment of going to the smaller market, IMO!

  • 2. Nicole  |  April 13, 2007 at 5:02 am

    Yea! How happy for you! Going to the market can either be a drudgery or a lot of fun where you can connect with and feel like you are a part of community. Regular stores just don’t offer that. I hope you will be able to shop there as much as possible. I know that I can’t shop exclusively at our Whole Foods Market, but I keep trying to buy more and more there when I do go.

    Oh, and regarding the TP, I actually use cloth. Not for “everything,” but mostly just when I pee. Saves money and trees. I have a basket piled with my cloth squares (just old cotton T’s cut up) and a drawstring bag I made from an old dress. No smell – I SWEAR. When the bag (rather small) looks full, I toss it in for a wash with the rest of my rags for household cleaning and don’t think about it again. I cloth diapered and use cloth menstrual pads, so this just seemed to me to be common sense. There are a lot of other folks using this method too. You can check it out at Mothering.com in their discussion boards. Do a search for “family cloth.” You just may be converted. 🙂

  • 3. Menno  |  May 28, 2007 at 12:58 pm

    Just ran into your blog, discovered that you’re virtually living next door (I’m living in Ede) and have just one question: what is the adress of the organic shop?

    You see, we’re in the process of greening our household (see my site for the stuff we did to our house) and I want to change to buying the local grain mill in Wageningen for all my bread-baking ingredients, and having another store on-route will make it more efficient to do the 10kms by bike.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Proudly achieved

  • 120,523 eye rolls since March 2007

