The environmental litter backlash

April 18, 2007 at 1:27 pm 6 comments

Disclaimer: This post contains reference to bodily functions… kitty bodily functions

So I put the eco-friendly litter pellets in the litter box, right? Cat should crap on the pellets business-as-usual, right? WRONG!!! Turns out cats are picky ‘goers’, which I should have known by now from that other time he pissed on my beautiful suede boots.

I don’t get whats the big deal with the wooden pellets but the fact is, from the moment I filled the litter box with the cat refused to go anywhere near it. Instead, the little bastard decides some old towel I once used to clean up after him is more ‘cosy’ to crap on… I guess there was some sense to that “mix with usual litter” recommendation. I thought I could outsmart the system, boy was I wrong… Fortunately that all took place in the balcony, and his crappings were very neatly arranged on the towel, so they were easy to clean up…

But of course, for some reason I decide that if I put his crappings in the litter box that would somehow persuade him to go in the litter box… Well, wrong again! In the end, this whole deal ended with an emergency supermarket run for regular litter, after the cat refused to piss or crap for a whole day…

As soon as we removed the pellets and replaced them with regular silica litter, the little kitten sprinted over there and finally did his business. Now I have a bag of wooden pellets sitting around and a cat who runs from them like from Mr. Hoover.I am still going to try the ‘increasingly mixing’ trick but I honestly don’t have much hope for it. That cat is one clever little rascal.  And this is why they say that hell is full of good intentions…

No pictures today… And I’m sure you guys apreaciate that 😀

Edit: The good thing about having an american boyfriend is that he points out that despite the fact that I keep hearing  ‘sway’, it is actually spelled “suede” 😀 Thanks, honey!

Entry filed under: environment, green, waste. Tags: , .

Eating out Meat less!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. vera  |  April 18, 2007 at 2:40 pm

    Doh! Once, we tried putting a little “kitty door” on my cat’s litterbox and she refused to go and ended up peeing on an old bed. Ugh.

    We did mix the silica litter gradually with her old clay litter and it worked, but this time around when we used the Feline Pine, we just used it all with no mixing and it worked! She is one trained kitty!

    Good luck with yours…they are fickle, fickle creatures.

  • 2. Vanessa  |  April 18, 2007 at 7:37 pm

    I could go on and on and ON about cat poop on the bed… Sophie actually appears to strategically place her poop around the bedsheets, pillow cases and mattress so as to make her droppings cover the biggest surface area possible.

    She hates the silica stuff, though. I raved a little while back about World’s Best cat litter (it’s corn-based, she loves it) and there’s also Swheat Scoop (wheat based). But not sure if either are available in Europe…

    Also, what are you munching on in your profile pic?? I’ve been trying to figure it out and am officially stumped!

  • 3. Rachel  |  April 18, 2007 at 10:01 pm

    Feline Pine is worth it, believe me. Stick with it. Just cover the pellets with some of your old litter. After a few litter box changes your cat will get the idea. No smell, no chemicals and no dust!

  • 4. Alina  |  April 18, 2007 at 11:52 pm

    Yeah, there is no corn or wheat here. I think my pellet stuff must be pretty close to that Feline Pine brand… I am going to see if I can fool the little kitten, but yeah, he has his street smarts down.

    The picture is a flower… I don’t know what its called. I would like to add that no flowers were harmed during the shooting of that picture.

  • 5. flower shooter  |  April 18, 2007 at 11:56 pm

    if the cat is so smart then why is he chasing his tail right now?

  • 6. Tyson isnt happy  |  March 3, 2009 at 1:12 am

    You guys are lucky, its alot worse having a cat who’s crapped on your leather computer chair 3 times (thrown away), crapped on your pillows and bed 2 times and just moments ago placed a large runny steaming pile on the suede sofa over night letting it fester for a good few hours (even though there was a catdoor available to go outside). All of this and its the cat your partner rescued off another family member, this cat is walking a very thin line.
    I love cats but ooooh…

    And i just replied to a post 2 years old.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Proudly achieved

  • 120,791 eye rolls since March 2007

