Meat less!

April 20, 2007 at 5:02 pm 8 comments

entrecôte 

My name is Alina, I am a meat-aholic and it’s been 7 days since my last steak. Lori, sign me up for the support group. I mean, stock cubes don’t count, right? I know it may not sound like much, but for a couple of unrepentant meat lovers like ourselves, its a major accomplishment.

Before we started this blog we were eating meat at least once a day,  for dinner and with sandwiches… And for people aiming for sustainability like yours truly, that’s a big no-no.  

Recently we started buying our meat exclusively from the organic butcher, but even so, we were still getting bacon cubes and sandwich hams or pates and such at the supermarket. I still don’t know how Bryce ever agreed to this… He squirmed every time I mentioned ‘eating less meat for the environment’.  But then I also mentioned that eating less meat is healthier, and considering that most of his family is meat and dairy intolerant, he figured it was better to delay his mandatory vegan days for a few years…

And so, somehow, we managed to go a whole week without meat in any way, not even bacon (again, stock cubes don’t count, right? ). It took a lot of imagination just to figure out “What the hell are we gonna do for dinna??” It took a lot of effort not to eat lentils every day, but we did it!

This week we had a stew, with texturized soya protein instead of meat which was reasonable, didn’t miss the meat so much. We had potato hash browns with portobella mushrooms and roasted brie, which was pretty damn good. We had some lentils (doh). We had some veggie pasta with a nice organic kohlrabi salad. 

Less successful was our bean and rice dish from last night which failed miserably, by the time the beans were half-done I had already lost my appetite and was in ‘go to bed’ mode. But not all is lost, we are still going to eat them tonight, hopefully a couple more hours cooking and they should be done 😀 And yes, I did soak them… but only for the afternoon. I am still not very proficient in planning my meals more than a few hours ahead.entrecôte

I have to admit I still shy away from the soya products section… I don’t know what I did wrong but every time I tried to reach out to tofu, things never really worked out between us. Fortunately, Bryce seems to be more comfortable with it so I think we might try using tofu and the likes pretty soon.

All things considered, I would say it was a pretty successful week in terms of culinary prowess and meat-lessness. But I have to say… I am very much looking forward to treating myself to a yummy, juicy, organic entrecôte tomorrow, maybe followed by organic bacon and eggs on Sunday *droooooool*

Photo Courtesy of FotoosVanRobin on Flickr.

Entry filed under: consumption, environment, food, green, organic. Tags: .

The environmental litter backlash Organic Grocery Bag

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. radicalmama  |  April 20, 2007 at 5:40 pm

    Congrats on the change. We stopped eating meat 1.5 years ago. Our kids didn’t do so well at first but now they are tofu addicts.

  • 2. Yukino  |  April 20, 2007 at 11:01 pm

    Wh00t on the change! XD

    About tofu: April issue of Vegetarian Times had it featured in their 1 food 5 ways article. There are some recipes and just general product description thing. If you want I can type them up in some .doc file and e-mail.

    I have yet to acquaint myself with tofu too; have to admit that usually when I get meat cravings (though less and less these days), I just opt for a pre-made veggie burger. 😛

  • 3. gettinggreen  |  April 21, 2007 at 4:41 am

    Congrats! I don’t think you should worry about giving up eggs and dairy though… especially in Europe, where farming practices are a lot more sound than they are in North America, what with our factories and battery cages and all.
    I don’t ever bother with beans I have to soak — WAY too much effort. Do you guys eat chilli at all? I made a GREAT veggie chilli with soy protein recently and it really held together, wasn’t runny or soupy at all. Also, if you have a blender, I find soups can be really filling. Like a ginger-carrot soup or a butternut squash and zucchini soup with bread and cheese on the side. And I find the easiest way to start incorporating tofu into your diet is to get the extra-firm kind, cube it up, fry it with onions, olive oil and some teriyaki or soy sauce, then add a whole pile of vegetables and rice. And what about fish? Fish is good, too.

  • 4. Greenpa  |  April 21, 2007 at 2:23 pm

    I’m not at all sure that “meatless” is natural- or even good for the environment- purely from the stadpoint of biological theory. Critters eat grass, and the world has a LOT of it. If you plow up the grass, and plant tofu (that’s humor) – you will get… deserts. There are a huge number of places where grass is sustainable, and agriculture ain’t. Sure; we eat too much mostly; and sure, standard USA meat industry is lousy. But there are a lot of little farms out there now producing the good stuff.

    Sure, the family farm raised stuff is a little more expensive. It should be. And that’s a good excuse to eat a little less. I guarantee you, too; that if you eat meat only every other day (or something) – you will NOTICE it a lot more intensely; also a good thing.

    So. I’m pulling for your inner carnivore!! 🙂

  • 5. Alina  |  April 23, 2007 at 10:37 am

    Hey guys,

    Thanks for the suggestions…

    Vanessa, I don’t think that fish is necessarily better. Apparently, all the worlds fish stocks are depleted, so to be ‘sustainable’, we can only eat sardines, anchovis and makrel. At least you have wild pacific salmon… I’m jealous!

    I would like to clarify that I am NOT going to go meatless… I am merely going To Meat Less 😀 Like, 1 or 2 times a week. I am not cutting down on dairy or eggs and I love a good steak, and eggs and bacon in the morning.

    Greenpa, I know thats the case for some places, but I live in the Netherlands. This freakin country is unsustainable by definition. Seriously, you guys wouldn’t believe what these people do to their food. I’m sure they are not behind the states in unsustainable animal production. But now I am only eating organic meat, as well as eggs and dairy, which I do think is better for the environment, more humane and tastes a 1000 times better. My butcher is family owned and I trust their suppliers to be small organic farms.

  • 6. Lori V.  |  April 30, 2007 at 9:02 pm

    Hey, Alina… I’m finally back… loved the post. Congrats on the Meat Less week! I totally hear you regarding eggs & dairy, and Meat Less-not meatless. If you find any good tofu recipes, let me know; with three kids (two teenagers & one pre-teen), it’s a lot harder to fool them or convince them with food!

  • 7. Alina  |  May 1, 2007 at 6:08 pm

    Hi Lori! Welcome back! I was actually a vegetarian for almost 2 years in my teens… You could appeal to your kids idealism, you know, cows suffering and all. Could work 😉 I have to say, my tofu experience didn’t go so well, I kinda still hate the taste of the stuff. Maybe I just didn’t overspice it enough, though… The soy protein is pretty good as a minced meat replacement, in chillies or bolognesa and such.

  • […] so remember I said before I couldn’t stand tofu. Well, seems like things are looking up on the meat replacement […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Proudly achieved

  • 120,523 eye rolls since March 2007

