The only good peach…

April 24, 2007 at 4:15 pm 8 comments

 The only good peach is an organic peach

…. is an organic peach! 

Continuing on the organic topic, I found this post on Chick Lit about what conventionally grown products are especially rich in …. no, not vitamins… pesticides 😀

I have to admit that I am quite ignorant about what can befal you from eating pesticides for breakfast lunch and dinner, but I can guess that none of it is good things. There is the age old portuguese addagio that goes ‘What doesn’t kill you makes you fat’ (maybe that’s where the ‘stronger’ comes from). Whether or not pesticides will make you fat (if they don’t kill you) is another matter, but my personal belief is that they might make you infertile and/or stupid and/or cancerous. Whatever the case may be, I know that I don’t want them messing with my hormones and that’s final.

Anyhow, if you can’t afford to pledge pesticides out of your life, the Environmental Working Group has an great guide to know what you should absolutely stay clear of.

The Dirty Dozen consists of, according to gravity of offense.

  1. Peaches (bastards!!)
  2. Apples
  3. Sweet Bell Peppers (I guess organic peppers  are worth their price in gold)
  4. Celery
  5. Nectarines
  6. Strawberries – hold on while I remove the dagger from my back… ok
  7. Cherries
  8. Pears
  9. Grapes (imported) – I’m guessing they mean imported from outside US, which carries the implication that our Euro-grapes rank in this category. American grapes are lower in the chart
  10. Spinach
  11. Lettuce
  12. Potatoes

Good news: Now I know I wasn’t buying peppers at 8 euros a kilo for nothing. I have been buying organic apples (phew!). No peaches yet (phew!). Apples, pears, and potatoes are reasonably priced. I’m growing my own salad greens, which are just about getting ready. No more toxic lettuce for me!

Bad news: Didn’t see any organic strawberries yet (those little back-stabbers).

Check out this list for extra dirt on your favourite veg…

Leading the Cleaner 12 list we have onions, avocados, frozen sweet corn, pineapples, mango and asparagus, among others. Broccoli and cabbage are on this list too. So, if you are short on cash, you know you can easily dispense the organic onions or broccoli.

Personally, my choice still goes for organic, for anything from cabbage up… But now at least I know its relatively safe to eat broccoli if need be.

Good peaches, courtesy of rayvaughn on Flickr.

Entry filed under: environment, food, organic, shopping, sustainable.

Organic Grocery Bag Refined tastes

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. gettinggreen  |  April 24, 2007 at 6:28 pm

    I think I’m going to invest in some all-natural fruit and veggie wash… I can’t always find organic fruit in the grocery store and sometimes it’s all bruised or over-ripe or whatever. And sometimes I prefer to buy local rather than organic, and then I have no idea how much or how little pesticide is used… but I think washing with water does basically nothing because the chemical sprays are made to withstand rainfall!

  • 2. Sara  |  April 24, 2007 at 8:35 pm

    Ooooh those dirty little fruits and veggies. Darn. I wish pesticides had never been invented. It’s physically painful for me to walk down the rows at the farmer’s market because they offer beautiful cut peaches as samples…beautiful freshly sprayed peaches of course. They aren’t local or organic…but no one cares. Most of them think they have to be healthy because they are at the market, but they aren’t. So sad.

    Anywhoo…yes. I’m with ya. And…gettinggreen…I wouldn’t waste money on the natural washes. They are basically soap and water. I would just soak and scrub everything. However…non-organic things like lettuce, etc are almost impossible to “scrub”. I’d stear clear. Pesticides go into the INSIDE of the produce, so you can’t really wash them off…but you can lessen the impact. I don’t bother buying organic with things that have a nice rind…watermelon, avocados, etc. Price can be prohibitive and the pesticide levels are low.

  • 3. Alina  |  April 25, 2007 at 8:50 pm

    Yeah, I agree with Sara, most of the stuff is inside. And I always thought that ‘veggie wash’ was just snake oil 😀 For me, I think I am simply going to avoid the top offenders if I can’t find or afford the organic version. I read that if you peel apples the pesticide levels are much lower, but then you loose the good stuff along with the nasties… And of course, I try to buy avoid the well traveled organics, but sometimes I make exceptions for Spain, France and Italy.

  • 4. Lynn  |  April 26, 2007 at 1:35 pm

    Hey, don’t knock broccoli 😀 I loves that veggie. Anyway, the EWG guide just made me wonder exactly how much pesticide is being used on crops here in my part of the world. Will have to do some research on that.

  • 5. vera8181  |  April 26, 2007 at 9:23 pm

    ::groan:: When I saw the list, I about cried. We love all of the Dirty Dozen with a passion. Thankfully strawberry picking season is coming near so we can get our strawberries from a farm (I don’t think they use pesticides, but I’ll ask them when we go picking). Not sure what we’ll do about the rest…baby steps, baby steps.

  • 6. Alina  |  April 27, 2007 at 2:11 pm

    Vera, sorry to disappoint you… Look on the bright side – onions are cool 😀 Nah… you still have bananas, mangoes, pineapples, broccoli, cabbages, asparagus, among others that are fairly low in pesticides… I’m sure if you pick your own strawberries you are pretty safe. I wish I was so lucky. I still can’t get over the strawberries trauma.

  • 7. Lori V.  |  April 30, 2007 at 9:13 pm

    Vera, I was disappointed to learn that our pick-your-own blueberry and blackberry farm uses pesticides… BUT, they don’t spray the fruit, just the plants during off-season, so I’m still thinking they’ll be better than importing conventional from New Zealand!

  • […] I have, just recently, seen the lettuce heads at the organic market stand for 1E a piece, picked that same morning in Wageningen. In the supermarket, they have them imported from Spain, who knows when and how, for E1,5o! And the 8E/kg bell pepper seems expensive, right? That’s about E1,5 a piece. What if I tell you that about the same time I saw single overpackaged bell peppers trucked in from the Kingdom of Far Far Away at the supermarket at guess how much? That’s right, E1.50. And let’s not forget that said peppers rank at #3 of most evil vegetables in pesticide residue. […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Proudly achieved

  • 120,665 eye rolls since March 2007

