Girl Stuff

May 4, 2007 at 7:49 pm 20 comments

Any guys out there? Er… Move along now! Nothing to see here… Don’t say you have not been warned. Continue at YOUR OWN RISK!!!

Anyway… Girls (I hope!). This is  a Diva Cup… Although I suspect that the only people who read this blog already know that, and are way ahead of me on this, but in case you don’t… This here is a pretty accurate depiction of a Diva Cup. If you still don’t know what it is or what it’s Diva cupfor, you can click on this link and learn all about it. Clue: it’s not kitchenware.

Fellow blogger Crunchy Chicken is hosting a neat little Diva Cup Challange over at her blog, with prizes and all, how cool is that. The challenge consists of trying the cup for 3 months and, hopefully, swear off disposables for life. I realized now I screwed up promoting it, it was only possible to sign up until April 30. Oops.

I ordered mine from here at a really discounted price, and received it yesterday. Just it time to try it out before my time of the month is over. How is it? It’s GREAT!!! I was kind of skeptical at first, how could you NOT feel that, it’s huuuge! But I guess the Diva worshipers out there were right… It IS the greatest thing since the wheel. Really.

TMI follows, look away NOW! I have to say, at first the stem was bothering me but then I trimmed it and now it’s perfect. Don’t even know it’s there. And I am still having a little trouble getting it in and out but I know I will get better with practice… OK, TMI over.

Now that I tried it, here is why I think it is countless times better than tampons and pads:

  1. It’s I-can’t-feel-it comfortable
  2. It’s so much cheaper. By my calculations, it should have paid for itself after six months.
  3. The knowledge that I am never throwing away another crappy disposable is priceless.

So if you are still reading this,I hope I didn’t totally gross you out (too much). GO order it NOW! Really… you will not regret it. And if by chance you are a morbidly curious guy still reading this, you can take the opportunity to inform your Woman (or surprise her :D).

Ok… this was the most embarrassing post I’ve written so far. The end.

Photo from Lunapads.

Entry filed under: consumption, Diva cup, environment, green, reuse, shopping, sustainable, waste.

Queen’s Day Success and Failure

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sara  |  May 4, 2007 at 9:01 pm

    I’ve been using my DivaCup for about 6 months and I love it too. I think it definitely has a “learning curve”, but for the most part, it’s great. I have a particularly heavy flow on my 2nd day, and I use a hemp fleece nightime pad for that day. I think one of the best things about it is that you can leave it in for SO long…8 – 12 hours I think…without the risk of TSS. It’s a little weird when you’re in a public restroom with no real place to “rinse” it out. Overall…yes, greatest thing ever. I’ve heard that some people really like The Keeper too. Great post!

  • 2. Crunchy Chicken  |  May 7, 2007 at 3:37 am

    Yeah! Thanks for spreading the DivaCup love..

  • 3. laura  |  May 7, 2007 at 1:46 pm

    I know you feel like it’s TMI, but I am SO glad you wrote about this. I;’ve considered it off and on, and now I think I might try it. Thanks!!

  • 4. Caroline in NH  |  May 7, 2007 at 3:39 pm

    I’ve had mine through one cycle now, and I’m another convert. I have seen mention of these a few times over the last year or so, but resisted (due to the “ick” factor, which was not anywhere near as icky as it seemed when in use). I won’t be without it again! I was another one astonished by the “can’t feel it” as well. An amazing invention!

  • 5. gettinggreen  |  May 8, 2007 at 3:24 am

    ARGH! I’ve been waiting to try my Diva Cup for MONTHS now, but I recently went off the pill (after being on it for about 10 years) and my “time of the month” is now 8 weeks late. Stupid hormones. I feel like all the cool kids went ahead with new trend and I’m left behind 😦

    Glad to hear you’re loving it, though!

  • 6. Alina  |  May 8, 2007 at 10:26 am

    Yup… there is a considerable “Don’t know what you’re missing” factor to the Diva Cup. You DON’T know what you are missing until you try it. I’m so glad I did. No amount of ‘ick’ can compare to how great it is. Go for it, Laura! You will not regret it!

  • 7. laura  |  May 11, 2007 at 12:47 pm

    Got it in the mail yesterday! 😀 Won’t be long now– I’ll try to remember to comment once I;ve used it. THANKS SO MUCH for suggesting it (the link to an inexpensive one was great, too!)

  • 8. Alina  |  May 11, 2007 at 5:41 pm

    You are very welcome, happy to be of service. If you need any help or advice you can ask, even though I’m still a beginner as well. Over at Crunchy Chicken’s challenge there are a number of experience ‘cuppers’ who I’m sure can provide valuable knowledge.

  • 9. Sharon  |  May 24, 2007 at 11:01 pm

    I tried it, but I had 2 problems w/it.
    1. My flow is sooo heavy on the 2nd day I had several highly embarassing ‘accidents’, which I could only prevent by emptying the cup at least every hour for that day.
    2. I have some sort of alergic reaction to the material its made of that gave me a bladder infection. (also sometimes happens when hubby uses condoms during fertile days.)

    So, I had to go back to pads. Hoping to try reusables, if only I could be sure not to have the leaking problem on my heavy day.

  • 10. Cathy  |  June 22, 2007 at 3:17 am

    It’s too bad this kind of subject is “TMI” because so many women could benefit from the knowledge that there is an alternative to irritating tampons and smelly pads. I almost wish I could order a sheaf of little “Diva cup” flyers to leave in women’s washrooms.

    I was an immediate convert, though the stem end had to be cut almost completely off for my needs. I guess I have “short” insides, because the stem poked out and was irritating. I also find I have to use a little bit of lube around the inside and outside edge or it has trouble popping open once it’s inside. If it’s dry it wants to stay folded in half and really scrapes me up when I try to twist it. I haven’t had any leakage problems, so I guess the lube isn’t compromising the “seal”.

    I ordered from Lunapads, which was much more expensive but came as a package deal with a couple reusable panty liners which have been very useful (and oh-so soft when fresh out of the dryer). If I need to order another Diva cup ever again, I think I’ll try the cheap route you listed. Thank you for sharing your experiences and allowing me to share mine!

  • 11. A break in the cycle « Half Pint Pixie  |  July 27, 2007 at 11:50 am

    […] some info on the reuseable Diva Cup from Closet Environmentalist Published […]

  • 12. katesaltfleet  |  October 8, 2007 at 3:29 pm

    Looks spookily like my Mooncup (I’m British). Whatever the brand, these things rock! I’ve been Mooncupping for a year now, it’s so much better than any other way of dealing with my period.

    Just discovered your blog and loving it!

  • 13. susan  |  October 15, 2007 at 2:07 am

    I love my DivaCup!! Should have been using this years ago. The best price I found is at South Coast Shopping for only $17.99 and arrived in only 2 days! Model 1 and Model 2

  • 14. Cara  |  January 3, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    It takes some getting used to – the folding part and placing it horizontally instead of “up” like a tampon. There’s definitely the learning curve we all had when trying tampons for the first time. I remember as a teenager screaming to my friends from the bathroom, “It’s in there…I think!” As a matter of fact, you might feel the same rejoice when you master the DivaCup, and it’s so worth it!!! Plus, there’s no odor and latex-free.

    Plus, ideal for a college girl who needs to save those dollars for Straburcks

  • 15. Miss Lynx  |  February 16, 2008 at 2:22 am

    *sigh* I really envy the women who say they can’t feel the Diva Cup or Keeper or other similar things… I tried both, but there was no way I’d win any kind of three-month challenge with either one — three days was about how long I lasted.

    I’m really not sure how it is that anyone can wear menstrual cups. They’re *huge* — even in the smaller of the two sizes they come in. The diameter is about what you’d have if you tried to wear six tampons at once. Maybe more. Plus, they have that nasty sharpish ridge around the top that scrapes painfully both while you’re trying to wrestle it in or out, and that stem at the bottom — even after you cut it off, you’re still left with more painful sharp edges.

    The whole time I wore the cup (either kind), I had to be really, really careful about how I sat, stood or moved because the slightest wrong move would make it jab or poke or scrape or otherwise attack my insides. Particularly embarrassing in public places…

    And yet, most women who’ve tried it seem to rave about it… I don’t know, maybe there’s some kind of Diva Cup zen you eventually get to where it no longer seems like a mediaeval torture device. But I guess I didn’t have the patience… Oh well. Cloth pads work fine.

  • 16. carolwsun  |  March 4, 2008 at 12:39 am

    I received my DivaCup and and will never go back to anything else! South Coast Shopping (www.southcoastshopping) has them on sale for only $16.99! Diva Cup

    Model 1 (www.southcoastshopping.com/si/10072.html)

    Model 2 (www.southcoastshopping.com/si/10073.html)

  • 17. Dana  |  December 7, 2008 at 8:49 am

    Hi there- I found your blog by accident while looking for a diva cup picture. My friend and I are making a blog about alternative menstrual products for a project we will be doing in a class called “social constructs and images of menstruation”. Would you be opposed to us linking to your blog on ours?

    I just started using the diva cup as a result of this class- and I fell in love with it immediately. Part of my plan was to try cloth pads the following month and I was so upset that I ultimately reverted back to the cup halfway through my cycle the following month. I can’t use anything else now!

    -anyway, you can reach me at dana.pogorelec@gmail.com
    we’ll be compiling posts in order pretty soon-it would be great to add you! thanks!
    the blog is fragmented right now, but the link is going to be musicfilmpaint.blogspot.com

  • 18. Melinda  |  January 10, 2009 at 6:30 am

    @ Miss Lynx

    The discomfort might be a result of wearing the cup too low. If you ever consider cups again, try pushing in further, because you may have to slide it past a certain point to not feel it anymore. The width of the cup shouldn’t be a problem if it’s only in your vaginal cavity (which expands without discomfort) and not pulling or poking at anything else, like the opening or right after it.

  • 19. lateda  |  January 15, 2009 at 12:16 am

    You guys are so right, the Divacup rocks! I’ve always felt weird about all that disposable menstrual stuff that I’ve thrown but I’ve felt even weirder about cloth pads. So I got the Divacup and reading soooo sooo many comments about how great it is. It is. It’s not intimidating, it’s not gross, it’s not unfriendly to the earth. They can be pricey but I got mine at iherb.com with code WAT706 and got it with shipping for $16 I think. At my local health food store it was $35. But it’s great and if you don’t have it, get it. Do the world and you a favor.

  • 20. caitlin  |  May 7, 2009 at 4:02 am

    I bought the diva cup after hearing sooo many good reviews and because i will be going overseas for 2 years soon and don’t want to have to deal with disposables. But I can’t get it in! I bought the smallest size and have tried and tried but it’s not working. I am a virgin so i don’t know if that has anything to do with it but it’s extremely painful to even try to get it in. if anyone can point me in the right direction of where to find info or can provide help i would greatly appreciate it. thanks

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Proudly achieved

  • 120,523 eye rolls since March 2007

