Wageningen’s Buy Nothing Day 2006

May 11, 2007 at 3:34 pm 5 comments

I found this video today, more or less accidentally and I thought I would share it with you. Buy Nothing Day was in November, apparently on a Saturday, and I can’t believe that I somehow missed it! It just totally passed me by, I didn’t even know about it. Damn… It looked really cool… apart from the typical November weather.

It’s here for a few reasons. You can see the small town where I live, you can see the market I always talk about, and you can see the back of Emmaus, the charity shop (where you see the ‘pimp my bike’).

The thing they are shooting the video from is a tricycle, a special cargo bike. I used it twice for moving my shit across town (including one bulky sofa). Apparently it was put together by 2 local organizations, one of which I knew because they give out free food at the market about once a month. That’s the ‘Food Not Bombs’ people, it’s them pouring soup in the video. (also in Wikipedia)

The first two stands you can see are the organic vegetables (the guy who waves at them) and right next to it is the organic dairy guy. It’s too bad they didn’t write ‘free hugs’ in dutch, “gratis knuffels”. Knuffels (the k is not silent) always cracks me up… it’s just such a funny word 😀

Notice in the end, when they are putting the tricycle back, there is a yellow sign in the road and a bunch of bicycles inside. That’s the shared patio of Emmaus and a ‘Bike Oasis’, which is a bike repair shop where I always take my bike when I have a flat. The guy is really nice.

Anyway, I just thought it would be interesting for you guys to see where I live and actually see the stuff I’m always talking about. I hope you enjoyed it.

Entry filed under: consumption, environment, food, local, organic, shopping. Tags: .

Success and Failure And the award goes to…

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sara  |  May 12, 2007 at 3:58 am

    What a FUN video!! I’ve always wanted to get involved with Food Not Bombs. I loved seeing all the bikes…yeah!

  • 2. gettinggreen  |  May 12, 2007 at 6:53 pm

    Cute! Your town looks adorable… too bad it was so rainy, though.

  • 3. nichole  |  May 13, 2007 at 1:35 am

    OH Alina! I just googled your town and it’s right by Nijmegen! I was in NL last spring and Nijmegen was my favorite town. (I didn’t know to stop in Wageningen!) I may have liked it so much because when I spoke Dutch the man asked if I was German. Although, apparently when you say “Ik sprekt geen Nederlands” you’re lying because everyone keeps talkin away.

  • 4. jasir007  |  October 23, 2007 at 4:42 pm

    hey so funny to see our shortmovie appear on other sites:)
    seeya,
    aster

  • 5. Buy Nothing Day « Confessions of a Closet Environmentalist  |  November 22, 2007 at 5:57 pm

    […] can also revisit this post, where I shared with you guys a video about Wageningen Buy Nothing Day in […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Proudly achieved

  • 120,791 eye rolls since March 2007

