Reusable Bags (and bottles and mugs)

June 10, 2007 at 11:47 pm 5 comments

I am not much of an online shopper. I have, on occasion, spent numerous hours on Ebay trying to find fashionable vintage shoes, but never succeeded in spending a single Euro. As I said before, I’m kind of old-fashioned. I compulsively examine all my potential purchases. I poke them, twist them around, smell them, check for the ‘best before’ date, check for suspicious ingredients. So you can imagine the limitations online shopping has for someone like me.

But yes, finally, a while back I successfully placed my first ever online order. It’s been a while that I actually bought anything for myself (or the house), so now it seems that green accessories is the only shopping therapy I can get. So I went over to Reusable Bags, and got myself some shiny new things.

Here’s what I got:

reusable bags

A Kleen Kanteen water bottle, a stainless steel commuter mug (the lid is not on the picture), a couple of Wrap’N’Mats and a few produce bags.

The Kleen Kanteen bottle is pretty cool. It’s a lighter than I expected. Of course it’s heavier than a plastic bottle, but it’s not so noticeable. The only thing I don’t like about it is that when you are drinking from it you have to press this tiny little rubber thingy on the lid to let out the air. That’s not so great, actually. It’s not very comfortable little button to press, for once, and second, the sound of the air sipping out of the bottle can be…well… a little embarrassing, if you are on a crowded bus for example. But that’s something I can live with.

The mug is not exactly what I expected when I ordered it. The size is pretty handy, and the lid is pretty good. You can easily transport hot coffee in it and not worry about spilling. The little annoyance with it is that it doesn’t have the little hole to sip from when the lid is closed. I have seen other cups with a little sliding system that magically uncovers a little hole to sip your coffee through the lid. And I really wanted a little sipping hole 😦 *snif*

The ecobags produce bags are pretty much what you can expect. I am still going through a pile of paper bags I got so I only really used them to buy the said produce once. And the lady at the organic store called my bags ‘funny’. I’m cool with ‘funny’. Better than ‘wacko hippie’ I say.

I’m still a little ambiguous about the Wrap’N’Mats. I mean, they are pretty handy, and do their job pretty well. But. When I first unpacked them, the ‘new shower curtain’ smell was pretty nasty. And they are not even made with PVC, rather they claim to use PEVA, PVC’s less evil twin. Whatever the case may be, I rinsed them best I could and hung them outside on the clothes line to air out. It’s ok now. But I still have my suspicions. Something that smells that fowl can’t be so great in a tight embrace with your cheese sarnies. Oh and if you are wondering why I got the extra-cheesy ‘environmental’ print you see in the picture… Well, it was a hole 2 bucks cheaper than the ‘adult’ versions. And I’m a cheap-ass, what can I say.

Overall, I’m rationalizing that the $50 I spend on all this crap is so totally worth it, but hmm… deep down, I think internet shopping really isn’t my thing. I don’t know if I would have bought some of that stuff if I was allowed to thoroughly examine it like I would have liked.

And yeah, Reusable Bags people… you are welcome to send me free stuff now. I have promoted you plenty over here…

Entry filed under: consumption, environment, food, reuse, shopping.

New Address! More recycling

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. greenchick  |  June 11, 2007 at 3:58 pm

    Keep us updated on the WrapN’Mats. I have had my eye on these, but like you I am a little cheap (I am not ashamed) and won’t buy them unless I’m sure I will use them.

  • 2. Chile  |  June 12, 2007 at 5:12 pm

    Thanks for the review of the products. I was planning to order the Klean Kanteens last week but opted to buy a similar product by EnviroProducts at our local natural food store. Like a plastic water bottle, you unscrew the cap to drink. I am still considering the other brand combines with the sport top for our bikes. Did you get the sport top?

  • 3. Menno I  |  June 13, 2007 at 12:00 am

    Oh, I wouldn’t worry too much about the sound of escaping air in a bus… The way the bus drivers behave in Holland, I would not dare take the risk to drink coffee (or any hot liquid for that matter) on a bus! 🙂

    Oh, thanks by the way for pointing out the organic store to me, we’ve bought a little trailer for our bikes, and now we can take the bike to get flour at the mill, and other things from the store, all in one round trip to Wageningen without ever looking at our car (yup, good oll’car has been getting lonely lately!) It’s 18kms, but it’s worth it!

  • 4. Alina  |  June 13, 2007 at 12:27 am

    Greenchick – the Wrap’n’mats work pretty well, once the smell is gone. I really recommend hanging them outside them out before, and maybe after, a good scrubbing with the dish sponge. That seemed to do the trick. Question is, are they really any better than a good old-fashioned Tupperware?

    Chile – yup, the sports cap is responsible for the air noises. Pressing the little button is the tricky part.

    Menno- Ah, yes, our good friend the 88. I never thought getting a car was really necessary here in Holland. You can get anywhere by public transport and bike. Although, I have to say, having to go to Eindhoven by trains and buses is a serious pain.

  • 5. Shana  |  June 13, 2007 at 1:25 pm

    I never knew what that little button on the Klean Kanteen was for! Ha. It may be comforting to know that I’ve had my KK forever, have never once pressed the button, only drinking with the sport cap, and my bottle is like new, except for a dent or two where I’ve dropped the sucker. 🙂 To heck with the teeny button, I say! Maybe it’s to release carbonation if you’re drinking soda, so it doesn’t spew from the top if you accidentally jostle, then try to open?

    –Shana

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Proudly achieved

  • 120,665 eye rolls since March 2007

