It rubs the lotion on its skin

July 19, 2007 at 12:40 pm 8 comments

I used to be a really high maintenance chick. I did. At some point, I had at least one different product for each body part, if not more. Let’s see, day cream, night cream, eye cream, hand cream, foot cream, one body lotion for arms and legs and another for the rest, special anti-cellulite cream (yeah, you can imagine how well that works). Body scrub, facial cleanser, sunscreen, perfume, make up, nail polish, not to mention shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, special tips serum, and of course, deodorant and toothpaste. Now I don’t know how “It” ever had the patience to rub all that crap on its skin.

I just got lazy. And I can’t alienate how nasty that stuff is anymore. Or maybe I just got me a one-way ticket to hippie-land. Next I will stop showering and using deodorant and grow rastas and wear tie-die clothes (kinda like this guy) and chant (but not around a fire because that emits CO2). Hmm… Naaaah! But my I think my boyfriend sometimes actually worries about this possibility.

In the meantime, I stopped using most of that stuff and slowly but surely started replacing my nasty products with greener ones. I only use the make up and perfume when I have social special occasions. I stopped ‘cleansing’ my face and didn’t notice any hostile acne takeovers. I stopped moisturizing and my skin is not scaling off yet. And I only put on some face lotion before I got out because of the SPF. I have to say, I stopped using a whole bunch of things and didn’t notice any difference at all.

I also started replacing the main stuff I use with their greener versions, mostly from these guys, mainly because I can find them at my organic shop at a reasonable price. But their stuff is pretty good, especially if you consider their extremely short and simple ingredient lists. I have to admit, their lotions are not the best smelling out there, but their lack of nasties totally makes up for that. In fact, after a while I actually came to like the ‘natural’ smell and started to strongly dislike the smell of conventional products. So far, I’m quite happy with natural toothpaste, lotion, and even shampoo and conditioner.

And I know how controversial shampoo can be. But I think that maybe the persistence is the key to the great shampoo drama. When I first got my natural shampoo, I have to say, I hated it for the first wash or two. It didn’t lather well and left my hair all dull and just overall horrible. But I am a cheap-ass so I just kept using it, and lo and behold, after a week it looked as good as ever. Now I want to decrease the washes from every other day to every 2 days. Once a week would be a dream, but I have to say that I am still a little skeptical of the whole no poo thing. I even tried it once, but that didn’t quite work out for me. And I know there are folks out there that are all about the soda and vinegar thing, but I don’t think I’m quite there yet. So I’ll just stick with my all-natural pooing for now.

Next I want to replace my paraben-laden deodorant, possibly with a solid one from lush. I was also thinking of trying their solid shampoo, but I don’t like the propylene glycol in them. I know there is SLS in it, but if Treehugger says SLS is innocent, I believe them. Ah, maybe I’ll try it anyway.

Oh, and on a related theme, I also changed to an eco-brand of dish washing liquid and I like it a lot more than the conventional one. It works just as good but it doesn’t leave nasty chemical smells on the frying pans like the other one did.

Photo by ktpupp on Flickr.

Entry filed under: cleaning, environment, shopping. Tags: , .

Ceci n’est pas un Post. Bloggers for Positive Global Change

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mido  |  July 20, 2007 at 4:39 am

    Good luck with your hair endeavors! I know I am having trouble with mine, but I’m in that crazy no ‘poo crowd right now (5 weeks)…and hitting some major roadbumps. I think I may be an environmental masochist.

    Hey, you want to try LUSH out? I have a bar of solid shampoo that I don’t plan on using (not used at all, to clarify), along with a metal tin that came with it. I bought them when I went down to New Orleans. Would you care to have it? Since I’m doing the baking soda stuff, I don’t need it and I’d like to give it to someone else so I don’t waste, but it’d be really awkward to post it up on freecycle…and who would drive all the way over to me for a LUSH bar anyway? Not really worth it…mailing would be different in my opinion.

    Oh by the way, you helped me out like three or four weeks ago with the organic vegetables/fruit post, as I am trying to eat organic on a limited budget. Thanks.

    Mido

  • 2. Alina  |  July 22, 2007 at 5:12 pm

    Hi Mido!

    How is the ‘no poo’ going? I’m quite curious about that. I don’t think my hair can handle that though… I have to wash it every other day and by the end of day 2 my head looks like it was licked by a cow.

    About that Lush bar, I have to admit, I am very very tempted. But sadly I don’t think it’s justifiable to mail it across the pond… You would probably spend more money than what you paid for it. Don’t you have some adventurous friend to give it to? Or I’m sure we could find someone who lives closer to you on this blog 😉

  • 3. Emily  |  July 22, 2007 at 9:01 pm

    I used to try a crystal that you wet and put under the arms, but it just wasn’t as effective as deodorant. Maybe I just sweat a lot…

  • 4. Alina  |  July 22, 2007 at 10:02 pm

    I’ve heard about these crystals but I was always a little suspicious of them too. As far as I know they are made with some kind of aluminum salt, so they are supposed to work according to the same principle as antiperspirants – clogging the pores. I’m sure they are not any worse than antiperspirants but still… So when I finish my current cancer cocktail, I’m definitely changing to a more ‘natural’ one.

  • […] 15th, 2007 by ClareSnow Like Alina, the Closet Environmentalist, I have a love for potions, lotions and products that supposedly make me beautiful. Unlike Alina, […]

  • 6. angieupnorth  |  October 3, 2007 at 7:58 pm

    If you want to support a company that is the most environmentally conscious company in the world –

    (they were the first carbon neutral certfied company recognized in the US in 2002)

    – then look at this website http://www.shaklee.net/upnorth/product/HairCare for hair care,. They also have skin care, natural cosmetics, clinically proven vitamins and supplements, green seal certified cleaners, water and air purification.

    I was attracted to them because of their environmental mission and I’m a believer because of their products. Everything comes with a 100% guarantee (how many products have that?).

    There’s no company that’s greener that I’ve found – and I LOVE their green seal certified cleaning products

  • 7. Samantha  |  March 19, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    I know this is months old but I just came across it. I too made these switches. In fact I did the bar shampoo from Lush first and was amazed at how good it was. It lasts a really long time and does a good job.

    The deodorant though was disappointing. I bought a solid bar with a name that begins with T but forget and it was really rough. It was ok on smell but I still sweated and I slowly started to dread deo in the morning because of how much it hurt.

  • 8. Alina  |  March 19, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    Well, I’m still sticking to the hippie-poo. I did try the deodorant bar. It’s not really my favorite, but it’s bearable. I get around the sandpaperness by applying the loose bits of powder, since my bar has pretty much turned to dust anyway.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Proudly achieved

  • 120,523 eye rolls since March 2007

