Warming up to tofu

August 1, 2007 at 10:07 pm 6 comments

tofu

Ok, so remember I said before I couldn’t stand tofu. Well, seems like things are looking up on the meat replacement front. I still can’t stand plain tofu. But it has been a learning curve. I have discovered that I can tolerate firm tofu if it’s nicely pressed and well seasoned. And by well seasoned, I mean with it’s natural flavor well disguised under a thick layer of sauce. It has to pressed though because it’s natural texture is pretty gross… IMHO anyway.

But then I tried smoked tofu. Which was actually good enough to swallow without any preparation and all… And I…. I… dare I say it… I LIKED IT! It was quite a revelation, actually. Normally I never buy anything that is pre-made, or pre-seasoned or pre-cooked or pre-anything. But this flavored tofu stuff might actually be a good thing!

And there are all these different flavors to try… Teryaki… Indian… Thai… Ah… a world of possibilities has just opened itself to me.

I admit that the crumbly kind still scares me a bit… But, we’ll get to that. Baby steps, it’s all about baby steps…

So if you excuse me, I gotta go eat my tofu now 😉

Tofu prepared by DeathByBokeh, on Flickr.

Entry filed under: environment, food, organic. Tags: .

Trains Rule and Planes Drool Recycling – I told you so!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. megs  |  August 2, 2007 at 4:47 am

    Smoked tofu is delicious!!!! It is almost meaty-like, but not really. It really holds up in a salad or in a sandwich. Another fun way to prepare tofu is deep-fried, actually anything fried can be yummy!

  • 2. Emily  |  August 2, 2007 at 4:08 pm

    You MUST, MUST get Jeanne Lemlin’s cookbooks. She has a tofu recipe that would make the heartiest meat-eater weep. I have served it to countless tofu-haters and they all love it. There are versions of it in several of her books, but I like the one in Main Course Vegetarian Pleasures the best.

    BTW — I am not a vegetarian and she is STILL my favorite cookbook writer.

  • 3. Nancy  |  August 2, 2007 at 5:42 pm

    Making baked tofu is easy and gives that same texture as smoked tofu. If you can find extra firm tofu to start with it, it’s best. Then cut into strips, put on a marinade (I use a great teriyaki sauce by SoyVay) and bake at 325-350 for an hour or longer, turning occasionally. It turns out great. There are lots of other recipes online with other seasonings.

  • 4. livelightly  |  August 6, 2007 at 9:11 am

    A couple of my favorite tofu recipes:

    Scrambled Tofu
    “Vegan with a Vengeance”
    by Isa Chandra Moskowitz

    Tofuna (tuna flavored tofu)
    “How it all Vegan”
    by Sarah Kramer

    BEST TOFU EVER. I make these recipes a lot and even my meat-loving hubby enjoys it.

  • 5. Liz  |  August 13, 2007 at 5:24 am

    Too funny, I’m like you and really had to warm up to tofu. But now I like it and besides, it is good for you!! I just wanted to recommend you try “tofu2go” …it comes in a few flavors and has a little packet of sauce that comes with it. Warm it up and it is a nice quick fast healthy meal. I think it is by Pete’s or something …I often find it in with the produce.

  • 6. LifeLessPlastic  |  October 14, 2007 at 7:25 pm

    I’m gonna go out on a limb here and say that MOST people prefer tofu heavily flavored, fried, or covered in sauce. It is, afterall, somewhat flavorless and has sort of a slimey texture. Both things that don’t really sound too amazingly appetizing straight away. But if tofu is cooked well, it really takes on the flavors already in the dish and can taste really good.

    I also want to add that I think I know half of the vegetarians in Chicago and none of them eat tofu plain. Just thought I’d mention it.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Proudly achieved

  • 120,791 eye rolls since March 2007

