This week’s favorites

August 7, 2007 at 12:11 pm 9 comments

This is a test run. I don’t normally post only links, but let’s try it. Let me know how you like it.

Sharon, over at Casaubon’s Book, does a great job refuting this stupid article. Seriously, that bullshit pissed me off. But I’ll just refer you to Sharon’s post, because she does a much better job explaining why it’s bullshit than I ever will. But so that you have an idea, the original article, written by a “environmentalist” (note the sarcasm), has a field day quoting ‘studies’ and tries to argue that walking to the store creates more carbon than driving there.

“Driving a typical UK car for 3 miles [4.8km] adds about 0.9 kg [2lb] of CO2 to the atmosphere,” he said, a calculation based on the Government’s official fuel emission figures. “If you walked instead, it would use about 180 calories. You’d need about 100g of beef to replace those calories, resulting in 3.6kg of emissions, or four times as much as driving.”

What a loadacrap. I might have to return to this topic later because GRRRRRRRRR!!!!

On another, less pissed off, note, did you know that coin hoarding is bad for the environment? So stop collecting those pennies and put them back in circulation. Otherwise, you are creating the need for extra metal to maintain the coin circulation. Check out Green Living Tips, where Michael will explain it more accurately.

Siel, Green LA Girl, has detailed instructions on how to green your booze happy hour. Follow the links and have fun (responsibly, hehehe).

And finally, here is a recycling tip, courtesy of Amy Stodghill from Green Options.  If you are a hardcore recycler, and you want to get rid of your old VHS tapes, or CDs, or audio tapes or printer cartridges, you can use GreenDisk‘s Pack-IT service (In the US). Here is a list of what you can recycle this way. Yes there is a cost, $6,95 for a box under 20lbs. Peace of mind? Priceless.

Entry filed under: environment.

Recycling – I told you so! Bad blogger, BAD!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tammi  |  August 7, 2007 at 6:17 pm

    I never really thought about coin hoarding but it makes a lot of sense. I have a nice glass piggy bank full of pennies. I guess I should empty it out and take them to the bank.

  • 2. Lori V.  |  August 9, 2007 at 3:48 pm

    Of course, the government could just take pennies out of circulation for good, and find a way to recycle/re-purpose the old ones. I hate pennies. If they’re so useful, why don’t pay phones or vending machines take them? 😛

  • 3. chile  |  August 9, 2007 at 8:02 pm

    The links are nice. I’ve never hoarded coins because I figure it’s also a waste of interest. You have to take the r-e-a-l-l-y long view to appreciate that one, though. 😉

  • 4. Alina  |  August 10, 2007 at 12:29 pm

    Tammi, I don’t know what happened but wordpress mistook you for a spammer 😀 Sorry about that…

    Lori, the dutch took upon themselves to eliminate euro 1 & 2 cents. They are so rich that pennies are below them. You can imagine my surprise when I 1st went to the supermarket and had to pay x.65€, even though the total was for x.63€ AND I HAD x.63€ in change in my wallet. Bastards.

    Chile, I never really thought about this before… So I thought it was an interesting perspective 🙂

  • 5. activistmommy  |  August 13, 2007 at 7:53 pm

    Another tip for people with old cassette tapes and VHS tapes, you can pull out the tape and use it to knit a bag. It’s strong, water resistant, and a great way to recycle.

    http://www.myrecycledbags.com/2007/08/04/cassette-tape-barbie-doll-halter-dress/

  • 6. toddy  |  August 16, 2007 at 2:23 am

    Hi there. Great blog entry by Sharon. I agree that the real broad issue here is based on this;

    “We need to become accustomed to the idea that our food production systems are equally damaging. As the man from Ryanair says, cows generate more emissions than aircraft….. we need urgently to work out how to reduce the greenhouse gas intensity of our foodstuffs.”

    I have to admit, when i read the article, I was just glad that he did make sense on this issue, the only sense that came out of his book, apparently. The article ends on another great point, to boycott pre-made supermarket food and concentrate on buying locally. So I’ve forgiven him even though he’s a dork.

  • 7. crunchymama  |  August 18, 2007 at 8:06 pm

    Great blog! That “study” is a load of crap saying it costs more carbon to walk then to drive. Some great green tips, I will have to look up on how to green our happy hour, my husband and I love beer!
    I am trying to simplify/green/veganize my life right now. Reducing animal product consumption is a great way to go green!

  • 8. Emily  |  August 25, 2007 at 11:14 pm

    Where ARE you?!

  • […] little announcement. I am taking over the Friday Linkfest duties over at Celsias. If you enjoyed my linking, you can get a lot more of it every Friday from today onwards. This week’s linkfest covers a […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Proudly achieved

  • 120,791 eye rolls since March 2007

