Eco-friendly is…

August 29, 2007 at 6:37 pm 5 comments

..not being a dumbass. Once you decide to care for the environment, being a dumbass is probably the biggest obstacle in your way. Oh how I envy organized people who’s head is firmly set on their shoulders.

Example: Since I started this blog, I have been very careful to turn everything off from the plug, the phone chargers,  laptop adapters and even the modem/router. I turned the water heater temperature down and have been zealously turning the lights off. And puff. One dumbass moment and its all gone (cough left cough iron cough on cough).

I can’t even begin to count how many umbrellas, sunglasses, pens, books and even various types of clothes, scarves, gloves belts and hats. I have lost during my short life. They could probably fill a whole lost and found room with all the stuff I’ve lost.

Being a dumbass is bad for the environment. My advice to you: don’t be like me.

*I continue to promise*

Entry filed under: consumption, energy, environment, waste.

Tuesday Ten: 10 things I could be doing right now… Celsias Linkfest

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Emily  |  August 29, 2007 at 9:38 pm

    It’s also bad for your clothes… If you leave the iron on top of them, that is…

  • 2. vera  |  August 30, 2007 at 2:58 am

    I have definitely had a few idiotic moments. Being eco-friendly means being more conscious and it is so easy to just do things on automatic without thinking.

  • 3. Alina  |  August 30, 2007 at 2:57 pm

    Emily, give me some credit here. I left the iron on AFTER I was done with the ironing.

    Vera, you are right. I try to. But its hard for someone like me. Organization is not exactly my forte.

    Btw, if you guys are wondering what prompted this article, it wasn’t so much the iron thing. Yesterday I lost my passport, drivers license, and some other important papers and as you can imagine was pretty frustrated. My mind was already wandering to different scenarios of what I would do without those things and how bad for the environment my dumbassness was. But don’t worry, they are found now. I guess using a a magazine for an improvised folder isn’t so clever after all.

  • 4. David  |  September 20, 2007 at 9:07 pm

    So many people in this country are “dumbasses”…its amazing that such a thing as caring for your earth paints you as a hippy by the “dumbasses”. 🙂

  • 5. Cindy  |  September 21, 2007 at 8:12 pm

    I read somewhere that it takes 14 consistent days to change a habit but still we are all prone to dumb incidents – organized or not. At least you are trying, unlike most people.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Proudly achieved

  • 120,665 eye rolls since March 2007

