Went to Portugal. But I’m back now.

September 25, 2007 at 10:11 pm 5 comments

I know, I know, I’ve been a bad, bad blogger again, didn’t warn my dearest readers I’d be absent for over 2 weeks, shame on me. So that sign is what I should have put up before I left… But I’m guessing you must be used to my irregular posting by now. If you’re not, you better get used to it, because I don’t think it is going to get better any time soon. If you want regularity, you always have my Friday Linkfest feature at Celsias (and even that has been taken on by another writer the last 2 weeks because I was on holiday). But we’re open now!

The month of September is being quite an eventful one, so I’ll just give you a quick update on what’s been going on and what you can expect from The Closet, followed by an account of my time in Portugal, in which I rant about the Environment there and you get extremely jealous of me because Portugal is so much awesome and everything the Spanish, French and Italians can do, we can do, better.

So anyway, my boyfriend is graduating tomorrow, which, unfortunately for me, means he is going back to the US a week from now. Which unfortunately for me, also means that I’m going to be left alone in this @#$@#@$%# country until I finish my !@!#@$%^&* thesis and can get the f#c% outta here. (Fortunately for you, this probably means my posting will become more regular just because I’ll be bored out of my mind). This also means that I can no longer stay in my apartment both for financial and mental sanity reasons. Hence, this week will be quite hectic as we have to move all our stuff to my new room, and BF gets ready to leave the country. I found a room in a hippie-minded student community and will write more about it in due time.

In the meantime, I don’t know if I have mentioned this, but our beloved ClosetCat was only borrowed, as we were taking care of him while his owner was away. So shortly before we went to Portugal, ClosetCat’s true owner returned from exile and we had no choice but to hand over our sweet little kitten to his owner. We miss him already. *sigh*

In other news, I am making contacts with a local environmental activism group, and if all goes well, will work with them on a project for my internship. You will also hear more about this as things develop. Tomorrow, I am taking a break from packing and cleaning to go to a screening of the documentary “Waste=Food” they are organizing.

So I know you must be hanging on the edges of your seats waiting for the follow-up post to my last post, but I’m afraid you will have to hang in there a little longer. Things are going to be a little crazy here for a while, but I will get on it as soon as I can. In the meantime, feel free to browse the archives, or subscribe to the Closet Environmentalist (which you can even get by email now).

But look, I’ve already extended myself more than I intended to, and I didn’t even get to the juicy part of my story: Portugal. So I’ll tell you what. I’m gonna get on writing it today and you can count on it first thing tomorrow. Gotta stretch this out, you know, Kill Bill style 😉

Photo by Leo Reynolds.

Entry filed under: environment, travel. Tags: .

Green Clothes Part I – a long lasting wardrobe Overdue post about that trip to Portugal

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Terpsichore E.M.  |  September 26, 2007 at 8:03 am

    Dear Alina: I’m also in the Netherlands ! I’m studying in Leiden! E a Alina, onde é que está? Cumprimentos!

  • 2. Emily  |  September 26, 2007 at 10:47 am

    The nice thing is that you could probably find another cat 🙂

    (I’m sort of an expert on that…)

    Waiting anxiously for your next post. (And I think I am going to do an environmental post sometime soon.)

  • 3. vera  |  September 26, 2007 at 2:20 pm

    Yikes! I hope you get everything you need done. 😦

  • 4. Rachel  |  September 28, 2007 at 3:50 am

    I feel for you having your bo go to America. If you are this advanced in your thinking, you are strong enough to unite with yourself in this time and have a hay day with you, you, you!!!

    Give yourself the attention it deserves! Lavish yourself with the things you love to do:)

    Love your site!

  • […] remember a while back I told you guys I was moving out of my apartment? I even promised to tell you more about my new place… Yeah, […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Proudly achieved

  • 120,523 eye rolls since March 2007

