Why I’m NOT doing Blog Action Day

October 15, 2007 at 3:31 pm 10 comments

Ok, dearest readers. You might find it strange that talk about Blog Action Day has been going around for some time now, and I haven’t been promoting it, or even mentioning it. That’s because I’m not doing Blog Action Day.

Blog Action Day is supposed to go something like this:

  1. Write something about the environment.
  2. Donate the day’s blog revenue.

That’s great. Except:

  1. This is an Environmental Blog. ALL my posts are about the frikin’ Environment. On this blog, Blog Action Day is everyday!
  2. I don’t have any revenue.

And more:

  • I’ve always had trouble doing something just because everyone is doing it. This is why I hate those songs you hear in clubs that dictate the choreography, “put your hands up” and so on.
  • I fail to see what, exactly, is Blog Action Day trying to achieve. Is this supposed to be like Bloggy Live Earth or something? So everyone writes about the environment for one day. “Imagine what could happen”. I’ll tell you what will happen. Nothing. Just like after Live Earth.

So please excuse me if I sit this one out.

Entry filed under: environment. Tags: .

Overdue post about that trip to Portugal Blogroll update

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dave Lucas  |  October 15, 2007 at 3:56 pm

    Sour grapes! SOMETHING will happen – give it a chance!

    http://dave-lucas.blogspot.com/2007/10/blog-action-day-2007-salute-to-al-gore.html

  • 2. Leah  |  October 15, 2007 at 4:24 pm

    I can see your point, for sure. There is a lot of talk and not a whole lot of walk after or because of these kinds of events. But for me, it’s still exciting. It’s a way of getting my readers (who are not all environmentalists) talking about it. It’s a way of showing how many people really do care, even if we don’t really know what to do besides take part.

  • 3. WoW!ter  |  October 15, 2007 at 5:44 pm

    Interesting point of view, but I don’t agree. After a nobel prize for Gore we need some real attention for the environement, rather than this ambassodor flying around the world in first class cabines.

  • 4. Alina  |  October 15, 2007 at 6:03 pm

    I see your points guys. This post is just to explain why I am not doing it. I’m not saying that YOU shouldn’t. In fact, I think that you should. The thing is, this blog preaches to the choir. AND it doesn’t make money. So if your audience consists of people who AREN’T in the choir, then this day could reel some people in. In your case. In my case, every single one of my posts is about the environment. So, a post today would just be another post. As I said, for me, everyday is blog action day.

    Its true, I still think nothing will happen. Just as I think Live Earth was a big waste of carbon. But that’s just my opinion.

  • 5. Prudence  |  October 15, 2007 at 7:37 pm

    Yup, I get your point. Each to his own. Everyone should do what they think is right at that time.

  • 6. Shabnam  |  October 16, 2007 at 7:00 am

    Same for me. I didn’t post anything or talk about the blog day. Your words express my feelings perfectly! (I also am finishing a phd and have no revenue!)

    Back to blogging today to save the planet!

  • 7. gettinggreen  |  October 16, 2007 at 3:06 pm

    Don’t worry, Alina, I’m totally with you! When someone told me about Blog Action Day, I was like, “Um, yeah, hi, that’s EVERY day for me.” I think it’s great that other people want to band together and all say something about this issue, but I think we get to skip it if we want 🙂

  • 8. Chile  |  October 17, 2007 at 6:51 am

    I did acknowledge the day but mostly to say what you said – that many of us blog about the environment all the time. Then I continued with what doing something for the environment looks like rather than just writing about it. Who knows, maybe I’ll have given one reader one little idea on what they could change without much trouble in their own life. Or maybe not.

  • 9. CindyW  |  October 25, 2007 at 7:45 am

    Hey, I am with ‘ya. Talking is all good. But talking is cheap. It’s high time for some doing 🙂

  • 10. Lster921  |  September 6, 2010 at 10:59 am

    Ha! How late could I be.
    I love that you stand up and make this point.
    “Oh Looky! Here I am standing in line and doing what I am told! I am making a difference because someone else said so.”
    BAH!
    Carry on.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Proudly achieved

  • 120,791 eye rolls since March 2007

