Living in Hippie Town

December 3, 2007 at 2:58 am 4 comments

DroevendaalPhoto by Hedwig. And that’s not really our garden, its common space. And that’s not really my house either. And the stage was for a party.

So, remember a while back I told you guys I was moving out of my apartment? I even promised to tell you more about my new place… Yeah, I know I also hinted that my posting might become more regular, and we’ve seen how that turned out 😀 Well, here I am, keeping yet another overdue promise.

After more than a year cohabitating with ClosetBoyfriend, I’m back to living in student housing for a few months. And, believe it or not, its actually been a step forward in terms of greenness. All because I was lucky enough to end up in a house where everyone was already pretty green by my own standards, in a wonderful place called Droevendaal.

The house itself is a sort of a bungalow with a garden, in a little student complex of sorts. The toilets and washing machine use rainwater, and we use green electricity. But probably the main factor that makes us green is the strong communal component in our house. We eat together everyday and all the food is shared. Oh, and there is a strict vegetarian policy, which accounts for the fact that I only ate meat one time since I’ve lived here (at that conference).

But our eating habits also mean that we have an extremely high food turnover, which means food never goes bad and we get by with one very small fridge (the under the counter kind) for the 6 of us. And its enough! (And yeah, this surprised me too. So if you think you really need a ice-cube spitting monster for your family of four, really, let me assure you that you don’t.)

And this probably has something to do with the fact that our 6 person household only uses around 4200 KWh per year. Compared to 4600 KWh of the average European household and 11.200 KWh of the average American household (note that the average household typically consists of 3 or 4 people).

We have a compost bin in the garden, and though we don’t have anything growing right now, we still have a sizable stash of homemade jam in the pantry from this summer’s berries. But I have to say, my favorite thing is that, for the most part, my housemates are pretty committed to eating organic and that’s just such a relief I don’t have to persuade them, or, alternatively, always do the shopping myself.

Although, sometimes, I still like to grace the most dedicated vegetarians among them with horror stories of cow pus in their non-bio yogurt or baby cow stomachs in their non-bio cheese. Just to keep them motivated 😀

We also have 2 house cats that satisfy my cat-loving needs. One of them is really old and I swear, he’s the ugliest little feline creature I have ever seen. The other one is cute and slutty and likes to hang out in my room. Would be cuter if it wasn’t for the daily dead mouse in our kitchen. I lovingly refer to them as ‘the ugly one’ and ‘the slutty one’.

So there you have it, my new house. I quite like it here and that goes a long way towards enduring the absence of ClosetBoyfriend.

Ps: I think I’ll still add a some pictures to this post, so if you want to see just how ugly the ‘ugly one’ is, check back later this week.

Entry filed under: environment, food, organic, sustainable. Tags: , , , .

Buy Nothing Day Another reason to eat organic

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Siel  |  December 4, 2007 at 12:58 am

    I wanna see real pictures! 🙂

  • 2. gettinggreen  |  December 6, 2007 at 7:48 am

    Yes yes, post some pics of the kitties! My parents have a cat that they also call Slutty because she’s always lying around on her back…

    Sounds like a cool place ya got there… I’ll be moving into a house soon, too, so maybe I’ll enforce some similar green rules.

  • 3. Alina  |  December 10, 2007 at 8:08 pm

    Siel, those are real pictures! Just not of my house, but they are all pretty much the same…

    Vanessa, yes, pictures of ugly and slutty will follow shortly… I just need to milk my posting topics 😀 Are you going to do any cohabitation thing at your new place or will it be just you? Congrats on the house though! Must be exciting.

  • 4. Luc  |  February 29, 2008 at 12:03 am

    Yep, I am one of the (former) housemates of Alina, and I think she made a nice description of us..

    🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Proudly achieved

  • 120,523 eye rolls since March 2007

