My eco-nightmare

April 17, 2008 at 4:43 pm 11 comments

Just look at it. So ominous and creepy. Photo by Pulpolux.

O hai! It’s been a while, eh?

I just thought you might want to hear how disturbed I am. For reals. I think I might have possibly had my first ever green nightmare this week. What do you think it was about? Do I hear you say “GMOs destroying all life on earth”? Earth invaded by armies of disfigured cloned pigs? Plain old boring sea level rise? Nope. I’m afraid I completely lack the ability for such complex abstractions.

My eco-nightmare was but this: I broke a fluorescent tube light. And there was glass and mercury everywhere. And in typical dream-state incompetence I didn’t manage to clean it up properly and was walking over it in my socks and stuff. And getting all contaminated. *shudder*

So there. I found out that I must have some weird CFL phobia lurking below the surface. Maybe that’s why I don’t have many of them.

So, your turn now. Ever had an eco-nightmare? Tell me everything!

Entry filed under: environment. Tags: , , , .

April fools, suckas! Unemployed!!!!!!11!!!!!111

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cat  |  April 17, 2008 at 5:28 pm

    Oh Gosh, I remember breaking a mercury thermometer as a child and playing with the mercury blobs on the floor. (Have you ever seen a “puddle” of mercury?)

    When my mom came in the room she said something like, “Oooh! Mercury is really interesting, isn’t it?” I guess she’d also played with mercury puddles at some point in her life.

    Apparently, Mom didn’t know that mercury was a hazard. Luckily, I’m fine and my children are healthy. I think my mother just scooped up the mercury and pitched it in the trash. Yikes

  • 2. Amber  |  April 17, 2008 at 7:16 pm

    This blog and the other comment is giving me the heebie jeebies! I just refuse to mess with CFL’s. I’m converting to LED’s.

    I cannot even believe how many folks have CFL’s in their homes and have no idea about the mercury. My neighbor was shocked! It’s as if we take 2 steps forward and one step back.

  • 3. Leslie @ the oko box  |  April 17, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    I have had a few eco nightmares ! The worst was when i was advised to use an “ozonater” in my house to “kill mold” (which logically sounds like a bad idea since we don’t want tons of ozone in our air)… and there was a bad chemical reaction(when the ozone molecules broke down and began reacting with other molecules in the air)- which turned the air mostly to Nitrus Oxide and ruined all my belongings and clothing , and made my whole house a toxic waste dump. I had to sell the house and then the person who bought it tore it down and built a new house.

  • 4. Clare  |  April 26, 2008 at 2:20 am

    A few days ago I had a dream that a teacher was telling my class that global warming was going to cause Armageddon in a few years and there was no point buying leather boots because the heat would make them start to stink long before they wore out. (I wouldn’t buy leather boots anyway–I’m vegan…)

  • 5. Clare  |  April 26, 2008 at 2:20 am

    o.o Don’t know where that winking face came from.

  • 6. Adrian  |  May 19, 2008 at 11:51 pm

    Hey! Thanks for sharing that horrible dream haha. I’ve never had an eco-nightmare before, but found yours very interesting. I was browsing through a bunch of green websites and blogs and I came across yours and found it very interesting. There are a bunch of others I like too, like the daily green, ecorazzi and earthlab.com. I especially like EarthLab.com’s carbon calculator (http://www.earthlab.com/signupprofile/). I find it really easy to use (it doesn’t make me feel guilty after I take it). Are there any others you would recommend? Can you drop me a link to your favorites (let me know if they are the same as mine).

  • 7. hayden  |  May 26, 2008 at 11:30 pm

    no sleeping eco-nightmares, but I share your distrust of CFLs. It infuriates me that they are part of the building code here – not the looser tech description of an efficiency that must be achieved – simply CFLs in kitchens/bathrooms. Stupid. Even if I could have found appropriate LED’s, the code wouldn’t have permitted it w/o an exception.

  • 8. GoingGreen  |  June 3, 2008 at 5:27 pm

    I had a dream of global warming effects, jus after watching a documentary on it in BBC, well it was very very scary 🙂

  • 9. Paperspoons  |  June 28, 2008 at 5:42 pm

    I had a CFL bulb break on me. I just vacuumed it up. Nevermind that that was a bad idea too!

  • 10. menno  |  August 10, 2008 at 10:48 am

    Looks like the closet has been locked… how are you doing Alina?

  • 11. Jenny  |  August 26, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    After the Katrina thing happened, about a year after around the anniversary, I started having dreams that I inherited a house in New Orleans, but it was so flood damaged that I had to get the Extreme Makeover Home Edition guys, and a bunch of celebrity hunks, to help me clean it up.

    My eco dreams are usually really weird.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   Sep »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Proudly achieved

  • 120,523 eye rolls since March 2007

