I has a flea problem

March 17, 2009 at 5:38 pm 11 comments

Hi there, whether or not this is the beginning of a comeback will remain to be seen. I will refrain from any promises, mmmkay? But I feel like writing something, even if it’s just to let you know I’m still alive. But since I’m quite hopelessly inept at this kind of thing and I didn’t want to catch you all off your guards with a super awesome post out of nowhere, I thought I would just start small.

I have a flea problem. This is what it looks like:
Flea bag
I changed those sheets yesterday night, after ‘flea problem’ finished his daily nap on my bed and left some uninvited guests behind. That’s a loft bed, which means you need to climb some stairs to get there. So today, I thought, I’ll make a ‘flea barrier’ to keep the “problem” out of the bed:

flea barrier

Nevermind all the junk. That's not actually part of the 'barrier'

Then I opened the window:

window

Clearly, I had underestimated the ‘problem’. Flea Buffet jumped in through the window, ate his breakfast and went straight for his nap, unhindered by my silly human barriers. “Yooppie, NOOOOOOOOOO!”, I cried, removing the barrier and climbing the latter. It seemed Mr. Flea Spa had gotten the message, as he promptly climbed down the latter and left, clearly offended.

Satisfied with myself for resisting his cunning feline deception, I went about my morning routine. Halfway through checking my email and daily reading, I start to get this uneasy feeling that I am not alone. I only left for a few minutes at a time, surely he wouldn’t go for it a second time. I removed the barrier and checked the loft. Sure enough:I surrender

I gave up. Asshole.

Entry filed under: Family, humor. Tags: , , , .

Carnival of the Green #147!

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. menno  |  March 30, 2009 at 7:13 pm

    Yes, you still have a reader! 🙂
    Poor you, silly cat and blame the weather for being able to open the window without freezing your … off 🙂

    Good to see you’re still sort of blogging, are you still living in Wageningen?

    The weather forecast for the next week is perfect, so get out on your bike and get some sunshine!

  • 2. Daisy  |  May 10, 2009 at 8:07 pm

    LOL!! Cats are clever. Ask your vet for an organic flea powder; we use one for our pet bunnies. Bunnies are similar to cats; they bathe themselves, so anything on their fur has to be safe.

  • 3. Domy Gryfino  |  May 13, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    Quite normal for a cat but obvious for a dog. I have to check my dog every time I go out with him. I don’t even tell about ticks – I have to remove them all the time.

  • 4. WoW!ter  |  May 19, 2009 at 12:25 am

    You’re back again. Great. Missed you a little.

  • 5. Noclegi Kotlina  |  May 19, 2009 at 10:39 am

    Good thing flees usualy don’t transfer from animals to people. I had a lot more problems when my daughter brought flees from her preschool. It was really annoying.

  • 6. Alice  |  June 10, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    Have had dogs and cats as long as I can remember and the only sure fire thing that I can count on is Psalm 91″neither shall any plague come nigh thy dwelling”

  • 7. Gry Dla Dzieci  |  June 17, 2009 at 2:39 pm

    You can’t beat a cat. At anything. Resistance is futile. These little cute furry bastards would outsmart men all the time, if they were bothered enough to do it. With their laziness, they do it only from time to time, when they really need it.

  • 8. Robert  |  June 20, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    Your cat is soooooo cute. I was wondering, what if you made a small soft bed for your cat! It sounds silly, but it may keep him away from climbing up to your bed.

    BTW- I have read quite a bit of your posting in the past month and really hope that you come back and post more often. Hope to see you post soon 🙂

  • 9. Tipsy  |  June 26, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    Can fleas actualy transfer from animals to people? I heard they usualy rather stay on animals (so you’d have nothing to worry about).

  • 10. Richard @ Eco Living Advice  |  April 9, 2010 at 11:39 am

    Here in the UK there are flea traps you can buy which are pretty green when compared to some of the nasty chemicals available.

    Basically it’s a box with a light in it, and you put a sticky pad on the bottom. The light attracts the fleas who get stuck to the sticky pad. Then you just change the pad once in a while. You can leave it running behind a but of furniture and get rid of your “guests” without dosing the house with chemicals.

    Not sure if they’re available in the Netherlands though…

  • 11. Conservation Jobs  |  April 20, 2011 at 3:14 pm

    Oh dear, well I hope they are gone now. We usually use a preventative treatment on our cat, but its not very green.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep    
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Proudly achieved

  • 120,665 eye rolls since March 2007

