Wasting money

April 6, 2007 at 1:27 pm 3 comments

First, I would like to thank everyone for visiting and for all the nice comments and the support we’ve been getting with this project. You guys have been great… I totally wasn’t expecting that this blog would do so well, less than a week since I started promoting it. No hate mail yet… I guess we’re not that cool yet, but I don’t mind. It builds my moral…

Second, I would like to apologize to my friend Ana… She was always an out-of-the-closet environmentalist and we used to make fun of her for being so naive back in university. She was always getting on everyone’s case about saving water, walking instead of driving, and other eco-nazi stuff like that. Sorry Ana!

One Green little kittenI’m still overwhelmed by the amount of plastic I’ve got in my trash and in my fridge, waiting to be trashed. I’m developing a solution for the kitty litter problem. I recently got some really eco-friendly litter. It sounds great, but I will still have to see how it measures up. It’s made from pressed forest waste, the stuff that results from forest cleaning, tree free. Its local and you can put in the compost bin. So I also got some compostable bags, and the big plan is to put the biobag in the bucket and use it for the kitchen waste and the litter.

I still have some concerns about this whole thing, though. The compost bags say they should be changed up to 2 weeks and and you can’t put stuff that is too moist in them. I am worried the poor bag is going to fall apart with the kitty wastes. As for the litter, it was about the same price as clumping litter, the problem is that you “should” change it 2 times a week, which will be quite expensive and also quite a pain. So I think next time I will try another kind, like wheat or corn, or whatever I can find here. But at least I am saying NO to plastic bags from now on.

My big trash bag is still lasting, almost two weeks now. The compostable bags I found didn’t come in the medium size, and in the end I decided that its not worth using a compostable bag to incinerate our trash in. I paid E1,89 for the 10 compostable bags, which I can make up with what I’m saving on trashbags. Those are normally around 1,5E for 20 but they are lasting 4 times as long now.

I was also quite happy to find out that my favorite tea filters that I use to brew whole leaf tea are actually oxygen bleached and compostable… I know its a little wasteful but I just like them so much… and they are made in Germany, which is fairly “local”.

Entry filed under: consumption, environment, plastic, sustainable, waste. Tags: , .

Frozen assets Market Research

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Debbie  |  April 7, 2007 at 8:15 pm

    I’m enjoying your blog, you’re doing a great job!

    About the kitty litter, look and see if you can get flushable clumping litter. I’ve been using a litter made out of ground corn, and I know there is also a similar product made out of wheat. Of course I’m in the US and there may be no such thing there, but if you can find it it’s worth a try; I’m very happy with it. I scoop directly into the toilet and as long as you keep up with the scooping the litter does not have to be changed frequently (I just top it off when it seems to be getting a bit low.) Most importantly, the cat accepts it.

    There’s still the issue of the water used to flush it, but I think the advantages outweigh the negatives.

  • 2. Alina  |  April 8, 2007 at 1:57 pm

    Thanks Debbie,

    I know about the corn and wheat litters… Unfortunately I didn’t find them here yet, so I think I will stick to composting the forest litter. And I don’t think our euro-plumbing is prepared for litter… I can just see my toilet backing up instantly. Thanks for stopping by.

  • 3. Back Pain  |  October 20, 2014 at 7:25 am

    Undeniably imagine that that you said. Your
    favorite reason appeared to be on the internet the simplest thing to
    understand of. I say to you, I certainly get irked even as people think about worries that
    they just don’t understand about. You controlled to hit the
    nail upon the top and defined out the entire thing with no need side-effects , folks could take a signal.
    Will probably be again to get more. Thank you

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

April 2007
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Proudly achieved

  • 121,563 eye rolls since March 2007